life.art.commerce. The Blog

Art. Pharrell Williams In Paper Magazine

In art. on January 30, 2011 at 4:43 pm

The N.E.R.D frontman and super-producer covers Paper Magazine’s November 2010 issue. P speaks about how he met A Bathing Ape guru Nigo and how he got Billionaire Boys Club/Ice Cream poppin’ in the excerpt below:

PAPER: I’m curious about your relationship with [Bathing Ape designer/music producer] Nigo, who I feel is like the Japanese Warhol. In Japan, in terms of the crossover between commercial projects and high-end art, there are fewer boundaries. How did you get into what he was doing with the [clothing and shoe lines] Billionaire Boys Club and Ice Cream?

Pharrell Williams: Well, he basically just gave me a shot. I came to his studio, he showed me some of his stuff, and I told him I wanted this, this and this. He told me to take it. I wore a lot of it, and finally he was like, “Hey, you wanna do your own line?” I was like, “Hell yeah,” and so
the rest was history.

Via YouHeardThatNew.com

 

Leave a Reply

